Keep It Fresh

You have not updated your profilein 0 days. Update your profile.


Processing, please wait...

Search

Resources

What’s Les Reading

inGenius: A Crash Course on Creativity

Tina Seelig

Imaginative. Innovative. Ingenious. These words describe the visionaries we all respect and admire. And they can describe you, too. Contrary to common belief, creativity is not a gift some of us are born with. It is a skill that all of us can learn. International bestselling author and award-winning Stanford University educator Tina Seelig has worked with some of the business world’s best and brightest, who are now among the decision-makers at companies such as Google, Genentech, IBM, and Cisco. In inGenius she expertly demystifies creativity, offering a set of tools and guidelines that anyone can use. A fantastic resource for everyone wanting to achieve their ambitions, and for readers of Jason Fried’s Rework, and Seth Godin’s Poke the Box.

Posted Tuesday, March 29, 2016


Justice -What's the Right Thing to Do?

Michael J. Sandel

"For Michael Sandel, justice is not a spectator sport," The Nation's reviewer of Justice remarked. In his acclaimed book―based on his legendary Harvard course―Sandel offers a rare education in thinking through the complicated issues and controversies we face in public life today. It has emerged as a most lucid and engaging guide for those who yearn for a more robust and thoughtful public discourse. "In terms we can all understand," wrote Jonathan Rauch in The New York Times, Justice "confronts us with the concepts that lurk . . . beneath our conflicts." Affirmative action, same-sex marriage, physician-assisted suicide, abortion, national service, the moral limits of markets―Sandel relates the big questions of political philosophy to the most vexing issues of the day, and shows how a surer grasp of philosophy can help us make sense of politics, morality, and our own convictions as well.

Posted Tuesday, March 29, 2016


Margaret Thatcher: At Her Zenith: In London, Washington and Moscow

Charles Moore

Mr. Wexner is passionate about biographies and recently read Volume 2 of Margaret Thatcher. In June 1983 Margaret Thatcher won the biggest increase in a government’s parliamentary majority in British electoral history. Over the next four years, as Charles Moore relates in this central volume of his uniquely authoritative biography, Britain’s first woman prime minister changed the course of her country’s history and that of the world, often by sheer force of will. The book reveals as never before how Mrs. Thatcher transformed relations with Europe, privatized the commanding heights of British industry and continued the reinvigoration of the British economy. It describes her role on the world stage with dramatic immediacy, identifying Mikhail Gorbachev as “a man to do business with” before he became leader of the Soviet Union, and then persistently pushing him and Ronald Reagan, her great ideological soul mate, to order world affairs according to her vision. For the only time since Churchill, she ensured that Britain had a central place in dealings between the superpowers.

Posted Tuesday, March 29, 2016


Team of Teams

General Stanley McChrystal

A new favorite of Les’s, Team of Teams addresses the central challenge of fighting a quick, ruthless and decentralized 21st century enemy using a century-old model of a top-heavy, hierarchal machine of thousands of men and women. In this book, McChrystal and team explain how they transformed the world’s mightiest military into a more agile, responsive and extremely transparent network with decentralized decision-making authority. They then ask can the same principles that apply in civilian organizations. The authors show what they learned can be applicable to businesses, nonprofits and other organizations. They argue that a team of teams strategy is most effective at tackling today’s challenges and can be transformative for the organizations that use it.

Posted Tuesday, December 08, 2015


Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us

Seth Godin

Human connection through the seeking out of tribes, whether they be religious, ethnic, political or even musical is one of the most basic natural instincts. Increasingly instantaneous access to people regardless of barriers of geography, cost and time has enabled countless new tribes to be born. Overnight a tribe of millions who care about their iPhones, or a political campaign or a myriad of other causes and affections can pop up. And so the key question, according to Godin, is: Who is going to lead us? Individuals, not the web must lead us. The tools are at our fingertips; all we need is the desire to change things, the ability to connect a tribe and the willingness to lead.

Posted Wednesday, September 25, 2013


The Margaret Thatcher: Not for Turning Volume One: The Authorized Biography

Charles Moore

The definitive biography of Margaret Thatcher, the longest serving Prime Minister of the twentieth century and one of the most influential political figures in the postwar era. This first of three volumes gives a unique and unparalleled insight into Thatcher's early life and formation, especially through her extensive correspondence with her sister. It recreates the atmosphere of British politics as she was making her way up, and takes her up to what was arguably the zenith of her power, victory in the Falklands. This is an admiring but frank appraisal of the legacy of a towering figure of our times.

Posted Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next